PDA

View Full Version : Scales to learn

pes_laul
January 20th, 2009, 08:08 PM
Well I guess its my fault for not learning these when I was a beginner but all I know is the minor penatonic (dont we all) dorian and a bit of the locrian.

lately Ive been digging some shreddy stuff like steve vai joe satriani etc. but what scale would one use to get that virtouso (I know I spelled that wrong) feel?

Robert
January 20th, 2009, 10:39 PM
Virtuoso feel? Uh, can you give an example? Yngwie uses the Phrygian mode a lot. Some shredders use the blues scale a lot. So the answer could be - "it depends".

You should learn all the modes. Not that hard really, once you know the major scale well. (See my write up - http://www.dolphinstreet.com/blog/learning-scales-modes.php)

SweetSong
January 21st, 2009, 06:33 AM
Hi , I don't know if this helps really,I really have not started learning about modes at all yet. I don't shred Yet either but anyway I learned the major scale first.The whole thing up or down the neck.Then about the Pent. only and about adding the blues note!

I think these are the best to start with because they have all the open strings in them.

G Major which is relative E Minor

C Major or A Minor

D Major or B Minor

I know these and and the roots so its helping and I feel like I'm really starting to understand some o this stuff.

I have to learn about modes though:whatever:

pes_laul
January 21st, 2009, 06:35 PM
Virtuoso feel? Uh, can you give an example? Yngwie uses the Phrygian mode a lot. Some shredders use the blues scale a lot. So the answer could be - "it depends".

You should learn all the modes. Not that hard really, once you know the major scale well. (See my write up - http://www.dolphinstreet.com/blog/learning-scales-modes.php)
yeah I know all the notes and stuff but I dont get how shredders play them I can sweep pick and all that stuff but I just dont know what to do

Viking Power
January 21st, 2009, 10:34 PM