PDA

View Full Version : Old Bluegrasser, New Forum

Flattop
January 24th, 2009, 03:26 AM
Hi Ya'll,

Most people call me JT. Some others have names for me that I can not mention. You can call me anything you like, just don't call me late for supper.

I live in western Iowa on the Missouri River bottom where the ground is so flat you can see what your neighbors are doing a hundred miles away.

Not to give my age away, but I started playing guitar in the early 60's on a Harmony Broadway, which I still have. When I was about 16yrs some friends and I saw the Beverly Hillbillies and decided we should play Bluegrass. We didn't make much money at it, but we did cut some sound tracks for TV and did some TV appearances. We also were called to play some of the big festivals around the country.

At about 18yrs We formed a rock & roll band that pay our way through college, but we were still Bluegrassers at heart.

Through the years I have been to hundreds of festivals across the country. I still hit all the local festivals and also try to catch 2 or 3 big ones around the country every year.

Through out the years I have been blessed with the opportunity to play with some of the biggest names in bluegrass. Memories that last for ever.

We still do a show now and then, but mostly just jammin' in a family setting with the kids and grandkids. We have three generations that jam together.

I play mostly Martins and Gibsons but I do have some Washburns and others.

I am looking forward to reading the topics on this forum and from time to time mabe throw something in to help or out for discussion.

Thanks for the opportunity to share in this forum,

JT

By the way, My user name is not Flattop because my head is flat, though some might think so, but because that is what I play. DREADS FOREVER!!!!

tot_Ou_tard
January 24th, 2009, 06:44 AM
Welcome Flattop!

Bluegrass is the original Shred, man you guys play fast!

sunvalleylaw
January 24th, 2009, 08:16 AM