PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know about Yamaha DG60s?

Cottonwood King
February 2nd, 2009, 03:04 PM
Hey everyone, I'm just getting into this whole guitar thing, so I am looking at getting a decent combo amp. I know a guy who is selling his Yamaha DG 60, which looks like a pretty good amp. It's got built in Digital Delay and reverb, along with a stomp box for selecting effects, and it has decent reviews online, but I wondered if any of you have had any experience with one? Thanks, I really appreciate it.

Tarin
February 2nd, 2009, 10:19 PM
Not here but... depending on what price he's asking, i'll suggest you dive into other amp threads in this forum to make a wise decision.
Right now there's a lot of great options for beginner guitarists (such as i) at low prices.
Remember on thing... it does'nt have to be a tube amp to get some killer tone.
you'll be surprised of what some SS amps like the Peavey Vypr, some Line 6's, Vox's and other well known brands can accomplish.

markb
February 2nd, 2009, 11:27 PM
They get good writeups but consider if you really want a modeling amp. For a first amp you may find the options a little overwhelming (I do and I've been playing for 35 years). There are plenty of straight ahead solid state amps from the likes of Fender and Peavey that go for very little money used. A Peavey Bandit for instance will take you from first practice to first gig and way beyond without breaking either the bank or your back. Just my $0.02.

SuperSwede
February 3rd, 2009, 03:37 AM
The DG series sounds really really good... very dynamic! Most of them have motorized pots as well, and that is really cool imho.

Cottonwood King
February 3rd, 2009, 07:45 AM
Well, the draw with this amp is that he is willing to trade me this amp for a free upright piano I picked up off of Craigslist. So, I'm thinking it's a pretty good deal, I just wanted to know if it was a good amp to get for a trade.