PDA

View Full Version : First Acoustic Build

Xerinok
February 17th, 2009, 10:59 AM
OK, so as the title implies, this is my first attempt at building a guitar...
I'm still a little unsure as to finishing it though. I've done a good bit of reading and just wanted some advice.
I'm not really sure if I need to fill the body before I seal it and apply lacquer..or what would be best to do such.
The build is a spruce body and poplar neck, and I'm pretty sure I'll be using nitrocellulose lacquer to finish it off. Though lately I've been considering the option of just using tru-oil or something similar...probly stick with nitro unless there's some compelling argument not to.
Any advice would be MUCH appreciated!

M29
February 17th, 2009, 05:14 PM
Cool project!! Do you mean fill the body as in filling the grain of the wood? If so, I would on a project like that and I would use nitro lacquer. I love the stuff, it makes the hair in my nose stand up:D Just kidding. It is the best material for a guitar other then a thin sealer of some sort that lets the wood resonate. In my humble opinion of course.:D
Some use a sanding sealer as a base and some just start out with the clear and use that all the way up. I don't like mixing materials and having surprises later on so I use clear all the way from the bare wood. It may take a bit longer but I know there will be no surprises as I go through the painting process and I know I will end up with a pure clear finish. Others will disagree and use sanding sealer. Either way it is personal preference. I sand between each coat and let each coat dry at least one day between coats, more if I can. I don't like an unstable finish underneath each coat and lacquer takes quite a while to dry thoroughly. Hope this helps some.

Edited: I forgot about grain filler. If the grain is very open I will sometimes use a grain filler but if I can get away without it I will try.

M

tot_Ou_tard
February 18th, 2009, 06:18 AM
Coolio Konerix!