PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Song Learning Philosophy....

Viking Power
February 26th, 2009, 02:55 PM
So as I'm bangin' away on my ol' dreadnought tryin to learn some of this geetar stuff, a nagging question keeps coming to mind..........

Do I force myself to learn the WHOLE song? Rhythm, solos, etc. ?

OR

Is it enough to learn the rhythm chords and just move on?

I'm a beginner and not in a band. Obviously, I can do whatever the hell I want, however, I am always open to advice on what is best for me in my long term progress as an axeman.

Thanks for any input!

thearabianmage
February 26th, 2009, 08:10 PM
Basically, you learn songs however you feel comfortable. But as far as advice goes, the most used process of learning songs is in small chunks. First the intro, then the verse then the chorus, then put them together. It's the same for the solos. You break them down into easier-to-digest chunks of information for your brain to gobble. Then munch it like a hotdog at a baseball game.

Robert
February 26th, 2009, 10:41 PM
What the 'mage said.

evenkeel
February 27th, 2009, 07:06 AM
As you correctly say, whatever works. If you like just learning the riffs or just the chords have at it. However at some point you'll probably get a bit bored. Learning a complete tune has a level of satisfaction that is different from scales, riffs, chord progressions.

R_of_G
February 27th, 2009, 07:52 AM
There's also something to be said for learning the whole thing (chords, intros, solos, other licks) and then putting together your own way of playing it. It's fun to know how to play some things just like they are on record, but it's also fun to develop your own reinterpretation of an existing piece. I find myself doing that more and more.

Viking Power
February 27th, 2009, 02:02 PM
Thanks a lot for the great responses guys!