PDA

View Full Version : BYOC pedal aluminum enclosure decorating advice

red
April 4th, 2009, 08:55 AM
I've just ordered my first BYOC kit - an Overdrive 2 pedal - and while pondering about what I might need to do for best results when it gets here I realized that I'd probably be wise to label the enclosure. The pedal's got 4 knobs, 2 regular switches and 2 foot-switches, so I'd very much prefer to know which is which.

I've researched the thing, and it turns out that I can either go with painting the pedal (some coats of paint, a decal and some clear coating), or etch the aluminum pedal face with acid (ferric chloride - which I can get pretty easily and cheaply).

But I'm a total novice about the whole thing. Ive read all I could about both methods, and I think the paint option is too expensive and it takes too long, and I'd probably end up with smudges and blobs - and I prefer the look of polished bare aluminum anyway.

On the other hand, I'm pretty much afraid of the acid thing. Obviously it needs to be disposed of carefully, and it shouldn't come into contact with metal sinks or pipes, it can probably hurt me physically, I don't know how long I should let the acid burn the aluminum, and so on.

So I would appreciate advice as detailed as possible about etching. For example, how do I wash the acid to check the progress? Obviously I can't do it in the sink. Do I just put some water in a plastic recipient and get the pedal out of the acid bath and put it into the water bath?

Also, the BYOC pedals are pre-drilled, so if I put the face of the pedal into an acid bath, I'll end up with acid inside the pedal eating away at the aluminum from the inside... Do I use an eyedropper or a paintbrush instead only on the face of the pedal only over smaller areas that need to be etched? How much acid do I let accumulate on the surface?