PDA

View Full Version : Boost recommendations?

birv2
May 10th, 2009, 09:43 AM
After hearing Rod Piazza and the Mighty Flyers, I'm inspired to try playing with just a boost pedal, since that's what his guitarist was doing. He was very clean but also warm and smooth/bright. If that makes sense.

I've been playing with some of my OD pedals and trying to see how they do as a boost - turn up the level, turn down the gain. Since I'm new to this, I'm not sure if that's going to do the trick. You can see my pedals in my sig.

Or would I be better off just getting a regular boost pedal? If so, what's a good inexpensive one? Don't even bother recommending boutique stuff. ;) Can't afford to go that route.

I'm looking at the BBE Frequency Boost, which sounds like it might work with my rig, since my guitars and amp tend to be pretty dark/warm, unlike most Fender stuff. I'm even considering the Dano Fish and Chips and using the boost function there.

Thanks in advance,
Bob

Blaze
May 10th, 2009, 10:05 AM
Heard that this onehttp://www.guitarpedalstore.com/guitar-effects-pedals.asp/pid_8314/productname_Behringer-PB100-Preamp-Booster-Pedalhttp:// was doin allright for the price but i would recommand a Xotic RC Booster ..

markb
May 10th, 2009, 04:46 PM
I'd have said your TS or SD-1 would cover the boost thing quite nicely. Not really a transparent boost though, they will bump the mids. I used to use a stock TS5 or a DOD OD250 to kick my Pro Jr. Mostly the TS5 with gain low, level high and then dial in the tone control to push the sound out front.

Lev
May 10th, 2009, 04:51 PM
Marshall blues breaker II, it has 2 functions, it's a pretty bad overdrive but flick the switch to function 2 and it's an excellent clean boost. I'm using at gigs every week now and it is brilliant for boosting solos. The added bonus is that it's not expensive at all.

birv2
May 10th, 2009, 05:44 PM