PDA

View Full Version : Replacing pickups!?

Cranium
August 7th, 2006, 11:44 PM
Im planning to buy a new pickup and I never installed a pickup myself, firstly where do I buy all the needed parts and what parts do I need exactly? What types of soldering iron's and do I need any other tools? Also it would be nice if someone posted a small tutorial here, its a Dimarzio Virtual Vintage model and I think the only diffrence is the wire colors, they have a guide on Dimarzio site but I still need to know what soldering iron's I need. Thanks :D

Mark
August 8th, 2006, 12:10 AM
I just installed a set of Kinman Blues on my strat tonight, being a Plumber soldering is right up my alley. Go here for good info on cookin new pick-ups.
Hope this helps!!

http://www.kinman.com/html/toneWorkshop/tone.htm#soldertip

Tinky-Winky
August 8th, 2006, 04:14 AM
Though I have never installed a pickup, I have some experience with soldering and therefore can offer you some advice on what to buy. Firstly, buy the most powerful soldering iron you can afford. Though it might sound as if the hotter the soldering iron, the more likely it is to damage the pickup/pot etc., the opposite is the case, as the soldering iron will be able to melt the solder more rapidly, before heating up the rest of the component. Secondly, buy some flux core solder, as it is a hassle to apple some flux before the solder. To hold the soldering iron, a decent quality stand should be purchased, and I recommend getting one with a spongy cleaning pad that is used to clean the solder tip after soldering. Though I don't use gloves when soldering (as it makes fine connections hard to do), a heatproof mat is a necessity as it prevents your table etc. from catching fire. Finally, it's a good idea to buy a "third hand" - something like this http://www.rjsintl.com/productDetails.asp?product_id=T166