PDA

View Full Version : Time flies!

luvmyshiner
June 1st, 2009, 08:16 PM
When I was in the fifth grade my parents bought me a trombone. For the next eight years my Mother made me practice that damn thing for thirty minutes every single day. That thirty minutes felt like an eternity. Don't get me wrong, it worked. I learned the trombone and I was pretty good at it by the time I graduated High School. But I hated those damn practice sessions.

The last couple of weeks, whenever CB starts walking on her treadmill, I've been sneaking off to the music room, cranking up the Blackheart, stomping on the chorus and digital delay pedals, and grabbing CB's ASAT. And suddenly, time disappears.

The next 45 minutes pass like 30 seconds. I get completely lost. Sometimes I just play through three or four songs I've memorized, sometimes I spend the entire time working on one new song. I can't explain it. I feel like I could spend eight hours just playing, without thinking about. I could forget to eat in that time. Forget to sleep. No matter how long I'm in there, I always leave feeling like I've been cheated. It was too short. It should have lasted longer.

I know it's just a hobby for me. But damn I love it. It takes me to the place I need to be at the end of the day.

piebaldpython
June 1st, 2009, 08:55 PM
Young Shiner (said in a Darth Vader-like voice :D ), methinks that the DARKSIDE (all those electric gits/amps/pedals) is calling you and that you need to make peace with that side of YOU!

luvmyshiner
June 1st, 2009, 09:21 PM
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! You are NOT my father . . . but you taste so GOOOOD!:D

http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m159/luvmyshiner/darth-vader-bock.jpg

wingsdad
June 1st, 2009, 09:30 PM
I thought this might happen to you, shiner :whatever: :D

Bur I'm surprised it took so long.:confused:

That guitar is filled with some serious mojo ;)

I'm glad she's livin' with cb & you.:)

street music
June 2nd, 2009, 04:43 AM