PDA

View Full Version : I suppose I've been putting this off long enough...

FrankenFretter
July 8th, 2009, 12:55 PM
Hello all fellow Fret members! I'm Sean, currently residing in the state of Oregon, near Salem. I've only lived here about 10 months now, having lived my entire life before that in the state of Washington, mostly near the Bellingham area. I became engaged to a wonderful lady (who happens to be 12 years younger than I am. Yay me!) who lives here in Oregon, which is why I relocated.

I started playing guitar in 1982. My brother and I had inherited some money from an uncle that passed away, and decided to invest in some musical gear. He drew the short straw, and became the bassist. We bought guitars, amps and a budget PA, and formed a band with some other friends. Although we never went very far with the band, it was a great experience, and I still have many happy memories of that time in my life.

I got married in my late 20s, and had to sell my gear to pay rent after moving to the Seattle area. At that time, I wasn't playing often anyway, and I pretty much gave up on ever picking up another guitar. Time moved on, and after a divorce and several years of thinking about picking it up again, I did just that. A friend had a Steinberger for sale, and I picked that up with the bonus of a Schecter Black Hawk for an additional $100. That was about two years ago now, and I've been slowly (very slowly) relearning guitar. Life with my new family (my fiancee and her daughter) takes up much of my time, but I do play when I have the chance. I may not be improving much, but I still love it.

I'm kind of the king of cheap guitars; I own two SXs, a Douglas, and my beloved Schecter. My next purchase is, hopefully, an Epi Les Paul. I've always wanted a Les Paul, but I can't justify spending over a grand on one at my meager skill level.