PDA

View Full Version : Signed up for King of the Blues at GC

birv2
July 25th, 2009, 05:19 PM
I was doing my usual Saturday noodling at GC, checking out amps, etc., playing the blues as always, and a couple of GC employees asked me if I had signed up for the contest. What contest, I says. The King of the Blues contest. Fabulous prizes, etc.

They both felt I had the tone and chops to do it, but I had to think about it. Why? Because I'm kinda new at this performance thing and am just starting to build confidence. However, after thinking about it, I decided to jump into the deep end. I felt pretty comfortable till I started thinking about it, and now my stomach is doing flips.

I have 3 weeks to get ready -- it's on August 20th. Would love to get any and all advice anyone has. The whole competitive aspect weirds me out a little.

Bob

Robert
July 25th, 2009, 05:22 PM
Awesome! Go for for it! Just stick what you know best. I'm not familiar with the details of this contest, but I'd suggest stick to good solid lines and licks that you know well. Make some good guitar faces as you are soloing, and you'll be all set. :)

marnold
July 25th, 2009, 06:49 PM
I don't have any advice since I've never played guitar in front of others (at least not people who know how guitar is supposed to be played). Nevertheless, I'll be pulling for ya!

sumitomo
July 25th, 2009, 08:43 PM
Ah come on now briv2,wasn't that you in the windy city who rented an axe,forgot the strap but was playing up on stage still?I know you can do it brother,give it your best shot you will do great.Sumi:D

BluesHowler
July 25th, 2009, 08:55 PM
I say good for it! Stick with some basic solos and chops done with feeling and little pedal effects.

Somewhere I saw comments from some blues contest that the best player used no effects at all while some of the other players used as much as twelve pedals while playing and did not win.

birv2
July 25th, 2009, 09:08 PM