PDA

View Full Version : There aren't enough bass posts

The G-string
November 8th, 2005, 11:07 AM
So I'll start one:

Who is your favorite bassist?

I'm into jazz so bear with me. I like Ray Brown and John Clayton for starters.

Tone2TheBone
November 8th, 2005, 11:10 AM
Chris Squire had a pretty cool thumpy bright bass tone. I'm no expert on Bassists though. From a guitar player's point of view I enjoy ripping off Geddy Lee's bass licks from the CD "Hemispheres" on my Yamaha bass from time to time. heh

The G-string
November 8th, 2005, 11:19 AM
Chris Squire had a pretty cool thumpy bright bass tone. I'm no expert on Bassists though. From a guitar player's point of view I enjoy ripping off Geddy Lee's bass licks from the CD "Hemispheres" on my Yamaha bass from time to time. heh

I can respect those ... I've not fallen-in-love-with any rock bassists as of yet, but I notice that when I love a song, it's often because of the bass line. Weird, I know. My son think that .. is it Flea? ... is awesome. I can't get past tRHCP's lead singer's voice to hear anything else.

The G-string
November 8th, 2005, 11:25 AM
Oh wait - - I just thought of a very important one ... *laughs* ... Paul McCartney! Where would we all be, were it not for the fab four?

Tone2TheBone
November 8th, 2005, 11:27 AM
Oh I totally agree there. Paul is tops. :)

The G-string
November 8th, 2005, 11:32 AM
And with my quote, how can I forget John Paul Jones? Duh! So I guess I do admire some rockers, after all.

Robert
November 8th, 2005, 02:38 PM
My favourite - Jaco Pastorius.

My favourite modern day player - Gary Willis (www.garywillis.com)

Nelskie
November 8th, 2005, 07:44 PM