PDA

View Full Version : Fender Champion 600 speaker upgrade

Bilsdragon
August 18th, 2009, 02:31 PM
Has anyone upgraded a 600 to use a 8" or 10" speaker? The two main reasons are the limited 6" speaker choices and a little bottom end would be nice. I recently modeled the current cabinet in 3d. (Autodesk Inventor software) I scaled it up to fit an 8 or 10" speaker. My dad is good at wood working so he is going to help me build the new box. I've been playing this old house for fifteen years but figured it be a good project to do with dad. Any tips or comments would be appreciated. The amp is in stock form at the moment, but I may be able to twist Stoneattic's :poke: arm to get some help with electronic tweaks. (for the love of God, get that damned vvr in that V5 already) Thanks.

jim p
August 18th, 2009, 04:06 PM
I don’t have an opinion on the speaker to give. On 10” you can see what people have been putting in the Crate V5. Just figure if it is bass response you want to improve you will probably need to upgrade the stock output transformer. I would look into Hammond, Edcor, OT8SE and OT10SE as possible choices. There is the mod posting for the Champ here and you should log in over at Sewatt to see what they have going.
By the way I am interested in how his VVR mod works out to and hope he will post some pictures and mark ups.

tot_Ou_tard
August 19th, 2009, 05:49 AM
Good luck!

I've only changed the output transformer and replaced the speaker with a Weber 6" AlNiCo.

I've stopped modding mine as I now have a Gries 5 which is a Champ clone with a 12" speaker. It sounds very full with a nice bottom.

If you are building a new cab for the Champ, I'd go with at least a 10" speaker. Is there a reason that you don't wish to use a 12"?

As Jim says, I'd upgrade the OT while you're at it.

I use the Champ 600 at work, and I like the 6" speaker to keep the volume down.

I've got to go look up the VVR mod.

Bilsdragon
August 19th, 2009, 06:29 AM