PDA

View Full Version : Guitar Center King of the Blues - report

jpfeifer
September 11th, 2009, 11:56 AM
I participated in the Guitar Center King of the Blues competition this year again (it's my 2nd time in this event). I was selected from the first round a few weeks ago to compete in the store finals last night.

Unfortunately, I didn't win but I gave it my best shot. There were 6 players competing and all of them were good blues players. I did get a lot of complements on my playing, so I felt good about that, but I think that I could have played better.

Each time I do this competition I learn a lot in the process. The thing that I learn over and over again is that timing/phrasing is the key element, not necessarily flashy playing.

I've been practicing at least 1-2 hours per day, every day, for the last 3 months since I entered the contest. Although this was great for my chops, I developed some tendonitus since I also use the computer all day for my job. As a result I've had to ice down my arms/wrists every day, take Ibuprophen, etc. This was a little tough to deal with last night since I was first up (the hands were a little stiff).

The guy that won was a young guy (highschool age) who had only been playing for about 5 years. He had a really nice feel, played in the pocket, and kept it fairly straight forward. (Lesson learned, ... you don't have to wow them with lots of advanced licks, just play a good clean solo with nice feel)

I will probably enter again next year. It's a little discouraging to loose out (especially to someone who has only been playing for 5 years), however this kid was good! I know that I can do better the next time. I also have a better idea of what the judges are looking for, (and ways to avoid tendonitus :-), and areas to focus on improving my own style.

-- Jim

birv2
September 11th, 2009, 12:01 PM