PDA

View Full Version : New amp, need recommendations

Bandini
September 24th, 2009, 02:30 PM
Hi!

I need to upgrade my gear, and I`d like to start with a new amp. I`ve been playing on a 50w transistor marshall, but I really want to change to a tube amp. I use a Gibson SG, and I mostly play music like, Stones, White stripes, Sabbath, Neil Young etc... When it comes to tube amps and guitargear I`m a total Newbie, so I hope you can give me some tips about amps (and maybe pedals)..

duhvoodooman
September 24th, 2009, 02:54 PM
What will be the major use of the amp? Playing at home? Jamming with friends? Gigging in noisy bars? I assume not the latter if you're a "total Newbie", as you mentioned.

Also, what's your price range target?

hubberjub
September 24th, 2009, 03:52 PM
There are lots of variables. Do you have ambitions of playing out with it?

markb
September 24th, 2009, 05:47 PM
A budget and idea of size would be good.

FrankenFretter
September 24th, 2009, 10:36 PM
Vox Night Train. Yep.

ragnarpk
September 25th, 2009, 09:33 AM
just get a Diezel VH4S.

Dont worry about the cost. because its the ultimate in awesomeness.

Bandini
September 25th, 2009, 11:51 AM
When it comes to gear, I`m a total newbie..I`ve never really bothered about that, but now I `m playing with friends in a basement, and amps really makes a difference.. Mostly I will use it for rehersals with the band, but maybe some day we will play for other people.. hmmm

Eric
September 25th, 2009, 02:44 PM
I have a Crate V50 that is...discontinued, but that works great. Your current sizing of 50w and (I'm guessing) 1 x 12" is probably sufficient for your needs. I would think that most applications that would require more volume than that will have a house PA anyway.

Without knowing your budget, you might want to consider a used Fender Blues Junior. You might be able to score one for around $300. Yeah it's only 15w, but that's 15w of class A, so it's a lot louder than you might think.