PDA

View Full Version : Which Modeling Amps Should I Look At?

Retro Hound
October 1st, 2009, 01:14 PM
Hello,

This might be something of a newbie question, but I thought it might fit in under the modeling amps section.

I've got a Roland Cube 15x, my first amp. Since I got it (at a garage sale so there weren't others to try out) I've discovered the Cube 30x has quite a bit more. Then I got to looking around and have seen that other amps can simulate the sounds of many varieties of amps. The Vox Valvetronix VT30, the Peavey Vypyr, and the Fender G-DEC.

15 watts is really all I need, but it seems you have to get 30w to get the options I want. In fact, the "power squeeze" on the Roland is very nice for my wife who doesn't like me to get too loud. I'd like various amp selections and also effects. Since I'm new to playing the guitar, this seems a good way to get acquainted with different effects before buying any pedals.

So finally, my question is, what do you suggest? Am I missing any major amps I should be looking at? I hope to get to a store (that's an hour away) and try some out, but I'd like to have an idea what to look at before I get there since I won't have a whole lot of time. Also there's a Vypyr on Craigslist for $160US. http://joplin.craigslist.org/msg/1401204125.html Thanks.

Robert
October 1st, 2009, 01:45 PM
I'd get the Vox Valvetronix VT30, but all you have mentioned are good. It is simple a matter of personal preference in the end.

guitartango
October 1st, 2009, 04:22 PM
To be honest , i would go for a all tube 15w amp rather than a digital effects laden amp. The trouble with buying a cheap amp is that you will hear a real amp and wish the had the same. I started with a vox VT30 which is a decent digital amp, then after hearing the all tube fender blues jr had to buy one.

Depending on the music you play just buy a delay,wah and overdrive and you cant go wrong. :rockon:

or you could try the VOX AC4 TV8 Guitar Amp Combo, which is all tube.