PDA

View Full Version : crackling through tube amp

Pickngrin
October 6th, 2009, 06:26 PM
I have an old Fender Musicmaster Bass amp that's been acting funny lately (I don't play it very often). I hear a crackling through the amp, even when there is nothing connected to the input, and there is a lack of treble. However, when I was testing it out the other day, I realized that it is an intermittent problem; it seemed to transition to normal functioning.
What should I be looking for as possible culprits? Bad tube (the three tubes are glowing orange)? Bad capacitors?
Thanks

Spudman
October 6th, 2009, 06:41 PM
Tubes are always an easy first place to start. Try rotating them to other sockets or swap them out for a set that you know is good to see if the problem resolves.

If nothing changes then you'll need to go to step two.

Pickngrin
October 6th, 2009, 07:41 PM
Thanks, Spud. I don't have any extra tubes to try. That said, I know nothing about buying tubes -- the different brands and esoterica makes it overwhelming. Any recommendations for a good site to order from?

Spudman
October 6th, 2009, 09:41 PM
Before you order tubes just try switching which sockets they are in to see if that affects your noise issue. Obviously pre-amp tubes go only in pre-amp sockets and power tubes only in power tube sockets.

Pickngrin
October 7th, 2009, 05:04 AM
This amp has just one 12AT7 preamp tube and two 6AQ5A power amp tubes. I'll try switching the two 6AQ5As.

kiteman
October 7th, 2009, 09:21 AM
This amp has just one 12AT7 preamp tube and two 6AQ5A power amp tubes. I'll try switching the two 6AQ5As.

Try tapping on the tubes with a pencil while it's on. If there's a bad tube it'll show up on tapping.

ZMAN
October 7th, 2009, 01:16 PM
Sometimes just taking them out and reseating them will get rid of any crud that has accumulated on the contacts. Try tapping them with the rubber on the end of a pencil. It it crackles or you hear a tinny sound you should replace them.