PDA

View Full Version : A new guy in the corner...

@nthony
October 13th, 2009, 02:51 AM
Good Day to you all!

I'm a Birmingham, UK, based guitarist, living in the same village as Ozzy Osbourne grew up in! (Moseley for anyone interested).

I started playing guitar at 16, had my first band at 17 called Waif. Played one gig, which included covers and original material. [Covers of Iggy Pop's The Passanger, Soft Cell's Tainted Love (on guitar no keyboard - many years before Marilyn Manson's cover), and original scores such as Don't Dump Me In Dudley.] and then noodled around for a few years never getting much progress. I hung the axe up at the age of 22 and didn't look at it again.

That was until...

Four weeks ago, I got the MIM Standard Telecaster re-strung, and started applying myself to re-learning it properly. It's coming back much quicker, and to be honest with you I feel much more competant with my playing than I ever have before. I got myself a cheap Harley Benton solid state amp too for £20 from Ebay. [The clean channel is great but the overdrive sucks! - Thank god for my ProCo Rat2]

I've started learning my scales (using CAGED which has been a breath of fresh air to me) I've already learnt all the Major (and Natural Minor) scales in all keys up and down the neck! What's more I feel more creative, I'm starting to spot the triads for Major and Minor chords in these scales too.

I think I've also realised something that I never did before:- I have to spell out the chords with these scales dependant on which chord I'm soloing over, not just run up and down the scale shape aimlessly (does that sound right guys?)

I'm playing anything I can from blues, to rock, and trying fingerstyle too. I've even invested in Lee Hodgeson Hot Country book, and learning a few things from that. Albert Lee is a genius in my opinion btw!