PDA

View Full Version : Where can I find a good teacher?

Eric
October 15th, 2009, 10:50 PM
Hi all,

I've been mostly self-taught throughout the years, but have taken lessons from time to time, which in retrospect I have found to be very helpful. I know there are billions of online lessons and video lessons out there, but I think that I need the accountability of a teacher to keep me going.

The problem I've had in the past is that my schedule was too volatile for teacher #1 (I worked 2nd shift at the time), teacher #2 was unreliable and wouldn't always be home, and teacher #3 went out on tour and never called me again.

So, the question: what are good things to look for in a guitar teacher, and where are some good places to look? I could use improvement in just about everything from theory to technique to scales, so it's not any one area I'm really looking for. I wouldn't call myself a beginner, but there's no area in which I could not use improvement.

Thanks!

aeolian
October 20th, 2009, 10:14 AM
So, the question: what are good things to look for in a guitar teacher, and where are some good places to look?

It should be easy to figure out good things to look for in a guitar teacher because you already know some of the things you want to learn. I recommend meeting with a potential teacher and ask them whether they can teach you the things you want to learn, and ask them for a small example of one such thing. I found for myself that there are many "things that I don't know that I don't know," so I would also ask a potential teacher as to what I should learn to progress.

Good places to look for a teacher would be music stores that gives lessons, or Craigslist under musicians. In either case you should interview the teacher first to see whether the person can actually help you before you sign up. If a teacher has at least several students that is likely an indication that he is pretty reliable as a teacher.