PDA

View Full Version : Camera gear (DSLR - Olympus talk)

Robert
November 3rd, 2009, 05:19 PM
I am just a hobby photographer, and I have a cheap Olympus E-410. I have the cheap kit lens which is okay, and then I got a telezoom a while ago, and it's really nice for the money. I am able to take more than decent photos with my gear. But the grass is often greener on that other side, ya know?

Long story short - I did a lot of research and I was thinking about the benefits of switching to Canon or Nikon. After much thought, I decided to stick with the Olympus gear, because at my level of photography, I don't think switching brand is going to make much difference. In fact, Olympus have some fantastic lenses and cameras, it's just that Canon and Nikon are more often the professionals' choice and have more lenses available too. I am not afraid to be a little different. :bootyshake :french

So, with that in mind, I ordered a 50mm macro lens that will show up next week. Then I'll take some cool close ups of my guitars, amps and other gear! :AOK
I am also looking out for an E-620, a newer camera than mine which has image stabilization built in to the body, plus a bunch of other cool features. It is also a very solid camera that will take great shots - a step up from my E-410.

There you go, just felt like telling someone. :pancake

markb
November 3rd, 2009, 05:30 PM
If you've bought the 50 f2, stick with Olympus. The 620 is a really nice camera. My only digi is an e-520 that I got for a stupidly low price. Other than that I wouldn't have a dSLR or I'd buy something used and obsolete. IS is great when you need it and with an Oly it's built into the body. no need to pay extra for image stabilised lenses. You'll read a lot about Olympus' poor low light performance but most stuff shot at high ISO looks bad anyway unless it's noise reduced to death.

Here's some stuff from Kirk Tuck, a pro who's gone through the high-end Nikon thing and is quite happy with cheaper equipment.