PDA

View Full Version : 34 year-old Noob

Commodore 64
November 9th, 2009, 01:12 PM
So, yeah, 34 years old, geologist, married, 2 kids. I'm pretty new to playing guitar though, I don't have years of experience, more like months. Played bass for the first time on Saturday, as I went to a neighbor's house who is a blues musician (he doesn't play out anymore) and ended up struggling with some basslines while he and another guy traded licks on stuff like "Scratch My Back" by the Fabulous Thunderbirds. He sent me home with the CD.

So, now instead of Iron Maiden, I'm learning 12-bar blues, and some chord progressions. He said I need to learn to play with other people, have rhythm, rather than just strumming chords, learning licks/parts of solos. I can play common open chords

Gearwise, well, I have an assortment of stuff, and I don't really even know whether it's good, bad, or indifferent. One of my first goals,is to be good enough to actually have a valid opinion of my gear:...in an amp, in a guitar, whatever. I've managed to accumulate a pile of gear, some good, some bad, but nothing high-end.

Acoustics: Taylor 110, 1971 Yamaha Red Label.
Electrics: AXL SRO (with an S/D SH-4), Michael Kelly Patriot Q
Amps: Fender Stage 1000 (1x12, SS), Crate GX212 (2x12, SS), Drive 20w?, Jay Turser Classic 10.
Pedals: Boss Overdrive, Boss Metal Zone, Dime Wah
Other: $15 Microphone

I don't do anything with the pedals, really. Especially the Wah...I have a hard enough time with my right and left hands, let alone trying to use a foot too. I mainly play one of the acoustics or the MK, with the Fender amp. I just made a deal on Craig's List, however, and will be getting a Blackheart Little Giant Head tonight. Was tentatively planning to use the Crate 2x12 as a cabinet, since at 100w, it's way to much for a married father of 2 to noodle around with.