PDA

View Full Version : Delay effect - how do you use it?

tjcurtin1
November 22nd, 2009, 02:38 PM
To begin, a question for Robert. Robert, seems that you use the delay effect kind of in place of reverb - is that right? I started playing with the delay on the Vox and it seemed to me that it is like an alternate if you use it subtly - higher settings range into another feel altogether. Anyone else have thoughts about how you use delay?

hubberjub
November 22nd, 2009, 03:14 PM
I use delay more for effect. I make a lot of ambient noise to fill in parts in songs. Volume swells using delay with some modulation produce synth like parts. I also like to use the dotted-eighth setting and play eighth notes to produce that cascading effect. I rarely use delay in place of reverb.

Ch0jin
November 22nd, 2009, 09:00 PM
Sorry TJ I know this was for Robert, but I can't resist throwing my .02c in because I'm a delay lover ;)

I know exactly where hubberjub is coming from and I suspect we use our delays in similar ways. It's not as a replacement for reverb, although I think I understand what your trying to say. I use mine (a kit made one that I can't say enough good things about) quite a bit. It's fun to throw a bit of delay in to some fuzz pedal noodles to broaden the soundscape a bit, but where mine shines is "screaming solos". When you dial it in correctly I found it gives my lead tone more body, more "gloss" (sorry, best word I could think of), even more apparent sustain, and best of all, used correctly it can even sound like you're busting out more notes that you're actually playing! I had a jam with some mates a couple weeks ago and both guys wanted to know what it was I was stomping on for lead breaks. Settings wise I tend to use quite a weak blend (maybe 9 o'clock), medium repeats, maybe around 10 to 12 o'clock and I tweak the speed (rate) knob based on the tempo of what I'm playing.