PDA

View Full Version : Gibson studio, passing on!

yeti66
December 8th, 2009, 01:53 PM
Hello and Happy Holidays, I'm hoping to pass on some incredible luck that found its way to me to some others out there, hopefully it finds whoever you are!

after years of dreaming and saving I'd finally saved up enough to step up to a gibson les paul (studio) I've been playing a ep for the last 9 or 10 years and its nice but its no gibson, and with the silverburst edition added to the studio family (and the fact that I luv black and silver) Well that took it over the top for me, I had to get it.

I orderd and received my silverburst a little over a month ago and was happy to have only paid $1104 through MF brand new! some sort of promotion they were running which was really cool because I was ready and expecting to spend the $1299 they were asking, but getting $194 off who's going to complain? well it showed up and after opening the box I was in love! she looked, played, and sounded beautiful.

I played her for a while and when I went to wipe her down I saw what appeared to me to be a minor sanding inperfection on the front near the bridge, it looks like a scratch almost the size of a human hair, about a inch and a half long under the finish and it's very hard to see, but it's there.

I called MF and asked what the procedures were to exchange it and found out that I would be without my new love for at least a week or more (DRAG):thwap so I thought about it for a while and after remembering that nothings perfect in life, I decided that I could live with the almost unnoticeble defect, being that I had already fallen in luv and saved $194 on the purchace price.

So already knowing that I'm going to keep her I thought just for grins and giggles I would call MF and ask if they were willing to offer a appearance allowance of some sort (I was hoping for maybe a small in-store credit of $25-$50) so I called with my fingers crossed.