PDA

View Full Version : Why are electric guitars so addictive?

Eric
December 23rd, 2009, 02:52 PM
So my story goes something like this:

I started playing acoustic guitar when I was about 16, and though it sat in the corner for many years, I would play from time to time. Around 23 I started playing with more regularity.

I got a Squier electric in there somewhere, but I never really got into it. Finally, when I was about 27 or so, I got an Agile AL-3100 and have since been obsessed with electric guitars. I'm now 30.

So the question: why are electric guitars so much more addictive than acoustics? I still really enjoy the acoustic guitar, but I'm not fixated on it quite the same way I am with the electric guitar. I feel like this is not so uncommon and that GAS seems to increase with electrics.

Any thoughts on why? Has this been the case for anyone else? Just curious if this is just some weird quirk with me and if not, why there seems to be a difference.

just strum
December 23rd, 2009, 03:01 PM
They put nicotine in the paint

FrankenFretter
December 23rd, 2009, 03:11 PM
I think that the differences in acoustics are more subtle than in electrics. The diversity of appearance, sound and character seems more apparent in the world of the electric guitar. Yes, there are plenty of varieties of acoustic, but with the exception of resonators, they all sound fairly similar. I say that knowing that there will be dissenting opinions, but that's just my take anyway.

When I look at acoustics, I don't quite get the thrill that I do when I look at electrics. Hmmm, maybe it has something to do with the rocking and the rolling thing...

hubberjub
December 23rd, 2009, 03:28 PM
Playing acoustic gets you known as being a sensitive singer/songwriter. Playing electric gets you chicks. (In theory at least.)

piebaldpython
December 23rd, 2009, 03:28 PM