PDA

View Full Version : 1960?

yeti66
December 28th, 2009, 05:56 PM
Hello All and Happy New Year, Recently on a show on the history chanel (pawnstars) a guy who said he used to tour with bands such as triumph and others was trying to pawn a (what he thought was a 1960) les paul, he wanted $25000 for it!:what the guitar was quite used (still beautiful) and he did'nt claim any famous attachments to it, so being that I'm not a guitar expert, even close! why such a heafty asking price? was 1960 special, and if so why?

Commodore 64
December 28th, 2009, 06:06 PM
I saw that episode. I love that show. I think the reason those old ones are worth so much, is that they are so rare.

evenkeel
December 28th, 2009, 06:11 PM
$25,000 for a '60 Les Paul might well be a bargain. The Holy Grail of LP's is a '59/60 Les Paul Standard, sunburst. Got one of those in the closet in mint shape, with lots of flame maple and you are looking at a cool $350,000 US. A '59/60 LP Custom has a book of $100,000 +/-.

What makes 'em worth that much??? Because people are willing to pay.

duhvoodooman
December 28th, 2009, 06:48 PM
What makes 'em worth that much??? Because people are willing to pay.
Specifically, rich collectors and famous musicians. The rest of us just drool over the photos....

just strum
December 28th, 2009, 07:18 PM
Specifically, rich collectors and famous musicians. The rest of us just drool over the photos....

Or are practical and think that it is outrageous.

g6120
December 29th, 2009, 06:09 AM
Ive got one of Gibsons sunburst Les Paul guitars its a 1960 and its the o.s. reissue and its the best Les Paul Ive played and Ive played mine side by side with some of the historics and in my opinion it sounded better .

Went to a store which had about 5 or 6 of the historics just about all different finishes and went with a open mind if there was going to be one that sounded better than mine it was coming along with me home but it was not to be so Im sticking with what Ive got .