PDA

View Full Version : Guitar stopped working - Help?

stormcrow
December 30th, 2009, 11:10 AM
Hi
Hopefully this is the right place to ask about this.
I’m a total beginner to all this so please forgive me if I am missing something obvious here.
I have a Fernandes Monterey Elite with sustainer (bought from e-bay few months ago) and the problem is it seems to have stopped working and I think it is a sustainer problem.
As I understand it if there is no battery in the sustainer it won’t work and neither will the other pick up which is a Seymour Duncan.
I was just perfecting the first 10 notes of Samba Pa Ti today :) (which is a huge leap forward from my usual 5 chords!!) when I stopped getting anything through my amp. I initially thought the amp was faulty but I plugged in my Squire and it was working ok. I then noticed that the led at the back was not on which I think indicates a battery problem. I have tried 4 batteries in and still no luck. Does this look like a problem with the sustainer?
Is this the excuse I have been looking for to pop into town tomorrow with Mr. Visa and get myself a new guitar?
Any advice appreciated regarding what the problem could be.

Thanks

Eric
December 30th, 2009, 11:45 AM
Is this the excuse I have been looking for to pop into town tomorrow with Mr. Visa and get myself a new guitar?
Any advice appreciated regarding what the problem could be.

Thanks
If you're getting a new guitar, can I have your Monterey Elite??

I don't know much (or anything, really) about that sustainer pickup, and this is just a guess, but you might have a loose connection, particularly if you bought it used. You could check inside to see if you can find anything obviously loose/wrong with the electronics. If you don't feel comfortable doing that, I'd take it to a shop and have them look it over before going out to buy a new guitar.

Spudman
December 30th, 2009, 12:09 PM
Like Eric say, it might be a loose connection.