PDA

View Full Version : Is there a "best way" to start learning theory.

Telewanger
January 6th, 2010, 10:08 PM
Hey Guys!

Some of you have seen some of my posts and some have not:

I have played for years, but know very little about theory. I have played in bands and have learned many songs, but never took the time or effort to learn what I was actually doing. Most everyone that I have ever played with were self taught and didn't know any theory, but I am just tired of not knowing anything.

My only theory has been, if I hit a bad note, move up or back a fret and I will be in key. It has worked for many years, but now I have more time to really learn.

When I go online and "Google" music theory, there is a ton of stuff that starts popping up and I don't know exactly where to start.

If someone has been playing for a while, do you start at the same place as a beginner? Is there a better place for me to start, so that I won't get too burned out and just quit? I hate to go back to playing Jingle Bells, if you know what I mean. A lot of times I will come up with a guitar run or lick and just have no idea what to call it. I just call it the Van Halen sounding thing, or the Pink Floyd sounding thing.

Any Suggestions?

Here is an example of the level of playing that I am at right now, if it helps any!

I don't have a clue what the scales or runs are called. If sounds "in key", I just go with it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_98MS9IpDZc

Eric
January 6th, 2010, 10:18 PM
Any Suggestions?
Roberto will probably have some suggestions, but for my money, I'd start with the major scale. Just google for a C major scale, see how it looks on the fretboard, figure out what chords you can make from it, and then maybe read up on modes or something.

Stuff started to make sense to me when I learned more about the major scale, since it seems like everything is an offshoot of it. I'll be curious to see what others say.

piebaldpython
January 6th, 2010, 10:28 PM