PDA

View Full Version : So whaddya think?

duhvoodooman
January 8th, 2010, 10:45 AM
Outright scam, stolen item, or abject seller stupidity? 'Cuz this sure looks like an AC30 with Celestion Alnico Blues in it. But I'm no Vox expert and the guy doesn't even mention a model designation. But the price seems low by a factor of 5 or 10!

http://albany.craigslist.org/msg/1541757658.html

Algonquin
January 8th, 2010, 10:58 AM
I'm with you on the suspicion factor DVM... something doesn't add up here. If I paid $400 used, I'd be looking for something close to that, and if new (doubt it)... would be asking about 75% of new. Proceed with caution if you do.

Commodore 64
January 8th, 2010, 11:04 AM
The speakers alone are worth probably 300 used, if they are Alnico blues. If seller is close, I'd say go look at it.

M29
January 8th, 2010, 11:20 AM
On a quick look those are not alnico blues, they look like ceramic speakers to me.

duhvoodooman
January 8th, 2010, 12:18 PM
On a quick look those are not alnico blues, they look like ceramic speakers to me.
Yeah, I wondered about that. They didn't look like the Alnico Blue photos I'd seen. But even with ceramic Celestions, a fully functional AC30 in decent shape is worth at least 3 - 4 times what he's asking. Just smells way fishy.....

This amp posted yesterday, and I would think that if it's legit, it's long gone by now. But maybe I should check it out, because the location is just a couple of miles from me.

M29
January 8th, 2010, 01:00 PM
Hello Vood,

If it is located that close to where you live I would be beating a path over there. See if the guy can show a recipe so you know it is not stolen and try it out and maybe pull the rear panel to see if anything has been modified. It may be legit there are a ton of people loosing their stuff right now (a sad shame it is this way) but it should go fast.