PDA

View Full Version : Agile or Xavier

FLHX
January 11th, 2010, 08:51 PM
I still haven't decided on which to buy an Agile 3000,3100 or a Xavier. I've heard good things about the Agile, any news on the Xavier. I believe the Xavier has the same neck profile as my standard 12 degree radious and the Agile is around 14. Is that a big difference? I'm trying to get as close to my
'90 standard as possible because it will be a back-up.

Eric
January 11th, 2010, 09:58 PM
I still haven't decided on which to buy an Agile 3000,3100 or a Xavier. I've heard good things about the Agile, any news on the Xavier. I believe the Xavier has the same neck profile as my standard 12 degree radious and the Agile is around 14. Is that a big difference? I'm trying to get as close to my
'90 standard as possible because it will be a back-up.
I have both brands, though a 335 model Xaviere and Agile AL-3100.

I'm not experienced enough in guitar-buying that I regularly notice the difference between neck radii, but I tend to like both guitars that I own.

Major notes:
Agile AL-3100 is heavy
AL-3100 quality overall I would say is nicer
AL-3100 has grover tuners and a tusq nut
Xaviere has a graphite nut
Xaviere tuners are a bit rough, but no big deal
Agile pups are pretty hot, Xaviere not quite as much
Considering the heft, the sustain on the Agile is not exactly earth-shattering

If I only had one guitar, I'm pretty sure I'd go with the Agile, but both are reasonably nice. I've never owned a guitar over $500, so do with that what you will. For the money, I'd say the Agile is a better deal.

Spudman
January 11th, 2010, 10:47 PM
If you are looking for a LP type then ask Duff about the Xaviere. He just got one and said he really liked it.