PDA

View Full Version : new member

BigBadWolf1171
January 21st, 2010, 02:42 PM
hello fret friends, im new to the forum,my name is Allen, im 38 living in NY.
ive been toying with guitars for roughly 4 years and finally want to take it serious. i have a ton of questions, i hope some are willing to help me with, as im more then willing to help anyone with the knowledge i have at anytime. my main interest in guitar is hard rock/ softer metal. (one mans metal is another man's rock is another man hard core), i like alot of 80's rock as well as current rock in ex. disturbed killswitch engage 5fdp, etc..however i enjoy alot of other music as well ,more so oldies (50's).my first and foremost queastion is, while ive toy'd with guitars for 4 yrs, and took lessons for 3 months,im just not sure where to begin,i can read tabs and can play most anything off a tab with alot of practice, however i dont know any chords or scales, as im decent at palm muting, and tapping, i feel like im lost as to playing the guitar. Almost like i tried to start at point B ,skipping point A. i appreciate any input, ty, Al

Robert
January 21st, 2010, 02:45 PM
Hey Wolfman, welcome to the gang! (did I just rhyme?)

Lots of people here to help with questions. Ask away.

Enjoy!

BigBadWolf1171
January 21st, 2010, 02:47 PM
thanks robert .as i scanned the forums late last night, i see theres alot of friendly and knowledgable members here:AOK

bcdon
January 21st, 2010, 03:00 PM
Welcome to The Fret! This really is a nice place to (virtually) hang out.

Cheers! :dude

FrankenFretter
January 21st, 2010, 03:00 PM
Welcome, BBW!

BigBadWolf1171
January 21st, 2010, 03:01 PM
thanks don, frank!

oldguy
January 21st, 2010, 06:45 PM
Welcome to The Fret, Wolf ! :happy

mrmudcat
January 21st, 2010, 07:02 PM
welcome

markb
January 21st, 2010, 10:38 PM
Hi, Allen!

sunvalleylaw
January 21st, 2010, 11:45 PM