PDA

View Full Version : Chet Baker

Robert
January 29th, 2010, 07:23 PM
How's about some nice jazz a la Chet Baker? He played (and sang) so melodically. Check out his material if you like his style.

R_f_mMJAezM

tjcurtin1
January 29th, 2010, 07:58 PM
Great late-night driving music, in my experience!

msteeln
January 29th, 2010, 11:04 PM
So under appreciated.
I love his whole career of sounds and styles. Helped pull me out of some ruff times.
The moody heroin stuff just makes me fall over.

Robert
January 29th, 2010, 11:18 PM
Glad you liked it. Yes, I think he was under appreciated.

Here is a haunting, beautiful ballad. Listen to it when you have time to sit down and close your eyes and just immerse yourself in the tune, without any distractions.

z4PKzz81m5c

SuperSwede
January 30th, 2010, 02:50 AM
I love his music.. thanks for reminding us about this great artist Robert :)

tot_Ou_tard
January 30th, 2010, 07:33 AM
O yeah! I'm a long time Chet Baker fan.

His life was pretty sad. he's was hooked on herion.

syo
January 30th, 2010, 08:20 AM
Wow. Great stuff. Thanks Robert! I had heard the name before but knew nothing of his music. Looking forward to hearing more.

Robert
January 30th, 2010, 09:23 AM
He died by falling out of a window at a hotel in Amsterdam, if I remember correctly?

Geraint Jones
January 30th, 2010, 11:41 AM
He died by falling out of a window at a hotel in Amsterdam, if I remember correctly?

Yeah , I seem to remember there was some controversy over the circumstances of his death some say he was pushed after owing money to fund his habit . I`ve got a cd of his last concert , I believe he died 2 weeks later . My Funny Valentine always raises the hairs on the back of my arms , also he played on Elvis Costellos Shipbuilding another of my favourites .

tot_Ou_tard
January 30th, 2010, 02:08 PM