PDA

View Full Version : Anybody ever shipped to Japan?

birv2
February 4th, 2010, 01:46 PM
I'm selling a set of CS 54 pickups on ebay and someone asked me if I would ship them to Japan. I've never done this before. Are there any issues involved? Unforeseen costs, etc.?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250573043715&ssPageName=ADME:X:AAQ:US:1123

tunghaichuan
February 4th, 2010, 05:22 PM
I'm selling a set of CS 54 pickups on ebay and someone asked me if I would ship them to Japan. I've never done this before. Are there any issues involved? Unforeseen costs, etc.?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250573043715&ssPageName=ADME:X:AAQ:US:1123

I remember shipping a couple of lots of tubes to Japan a couple years back. My own personal experience was that it was relatively painless. You'll have to fill out a customs form, either the green one or the white one if using USPS, which isn't too bad. It wouldn't be too expensive either, if the pickups fit in one of the small Priority Mail boxes. I wouldn't send it the slowest way either, I'd make the buyer cough up a little more for International Priority Mail. Things mailed via the slow boat tend to take a long time to get anywhere.

syo
February 4th, 2010, 06:08 PM
Yes, you have to fill customs forms, but no hidden costs to you. The buyer may have to pay a customs tax of 5% depending on the cost of the item here in Japan. Usually under $100 of the declared value, they don't charge tax. It is a good idea to prepare the buyer for this to avoid misunderstanding. Usually people who sell internationally make it clear that customs duties are the responsibility of the buyer. And I concur with Tung, definitely send by nothing less than priority mail.

otaypanky
February 5th, 2010, 12:44 AM