PDA

View Full Version : Bargaining for guitars.

tot_Ou_tard
September 24th, 2006, 08:46 AM
What is the collective Fret wisdom about bargaining down guitar prices in:

a) A mega music shop like GC.
b) A small guitar shop.

I've only bought guitars from Ebay. Do you come armed with internet prices & say, well I can buy one of these babies from MF for such n' so.

What's your experience?

Justaguyin_nc
September 24th, 2006, 09:54 AM
I have had the experience with (B).. two shops closest to me (50 miles away) and ofcourse small... just wanting to see what was around... Ofcourse I am not that good at getting discounts.. both places told me about the same thing... if you want to buy a guitar thats not setup sight unseen and do it yourself.. by all means buy online.. we are a personal touch shop.. The problem is... both of these personal touch shops had like 15% off list.. which is far from online and I guess if needed I could still save money and carry it in and have a setup put on it... which again they both offered to do... I think they cater more to the School crowds and the parents cough up the money.. so far all I buy is online.. there is a SamAsh about 80 miles from me.. been there once.. but never tried to get a better price.. was in awwwe of all they had and just sat there and cried... I was so confused...

tot_Ou_tard
September 24th, 2006, 10:01 AM
Yeah, I'd assume you can figure in something extra for the set up & the fact that you were able to play the exact guitar that you are buying & a little sumpin' for the overhead of the store.

Any ideas on usual percentages above online &/or below list?

oldguy
September 24th, 2006, 12:44 PM