PDA

View Full Version : A Good 1st Acoustic?

MAXIFUNK
March 19th, 2010, 10:22 PM
My sister-in-law is going to start taking guitar lessons real soon.
She asked me what would be a good 1st acoustic guitar.
I have no knowledge what so ever in that world at all so I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice on where to start with her search.

I figured a small body style guitar would be best and not a super flat neck but after that I am dead in the water. I know the big Brand names like most folks Martin & Taylor. But I have no idea if their low ends guitars are as good as some other brands which thrive in that area. I also told her to expect to spend from $300.00 to $1000.00 USD which she has no problem with. Although honestly I think the 300-600 range would be more than enough.

So once again thanks in advance for your input, time and expertise.

Tig
March 19th, 2010, 10:36 PM
I'd look at the Yamaha FS720S (http://www.yamaha.com/guitars/products/productdetail.html?CNTID=553439&CTID=5064900). Small body, and better quality than it's under $300 price tag might indicate. It comes in 5 colors (Natural, Black, Brown Sunburst, Dusk Sun Red, and Ocean Blue Burst), and sounds really solid. I liked how the neck felt as well.

I played one a few days ago, and it fit my needs for a future acoustic. I've been scrounging around pawn shops lately, but the only good find was a Guild for $700, which is out of my price range.

Dig around for some reviews.

Robert
March 19th, 2010, 10:45 PM
I got a cheap SX acoustic from Rondo, and it did me just fine. I think I payed around $150 for it.

sunvalleylaw
March 19th, 2010, 11:29 PM
Blueridge is making some very nice guitars for +/- $500. Maybe more than you want to spend for a first, and you might be able to find them for less, but they are pretty nice by all reports. Here is a 000 size, rosewood/spruce that looks pretty darn nice.

http://www.sagamusic.com/catalog/details.asp?ProductID=BR-63&CategoryID=2&FamilyID=2&BrandID=5