PDA

View Full Version : What has the guitar taught YOU?

Tig
May 24th, 2010, 07:19 AM
I thought it might be interesting for us to look inward a little and see what we've learned from playing guitar, be it in a bedroom or band.
It could be what we've learned about ourselves, about others, about life, or you-name-it...
Deep philosophy to humor and beyond.

Tig
May 24th, 2010, 07:23 AM
I've learned that I'm a much better student in my 40's than I ever was in my 20's. Maybe at this rate, I'll be worth a damn at playing by the time I'm 90!

I've learned that I love music more then ever, and have come to appreciate the musicians that make music sound so easy.

I've learned that I can achieve great tone without great expense.

marnold
May 24th, 2010, 08:17 AM
That I have virtually no natural talent.

That my stick-tuitiveness leaves quite a lot to be desired.

That there's no lack of talent that massive amounts of gain can't cover up.

Heywood Jablomie
May 24th, 2010, 08:22 AM
Primarily, it's taught me the value of perseverence. I'm glad I stuck to it when I was 12, and my fingers hurt, progress was slow, practice was tedious. More recently, since I've been playing more, persevering to learn more songs and try to learn some leads. The rewards are worth it.

mainestratman
May 24th, 2010, 08:37 AM
This is going to sound wicked "new age" (unless you happen to be Buddhist), but playing has really enforced mindfulness for me. There is a noticeable difference for me if I start thinking about what I'm playing, in contrast to just playing (which is more natural and typically sounds better)...

That simple philosophy is crossing into other aspects of my life as well, keeping me a little more centered.

Tig
May 24th, 2010, 08:52 AM
That simple philosophy is crossing into other aspects of my life as well, keeping me a little more centered.

I take it that you've read "Zen Guitar" by Philip Toshio Sudo?
If not, you may already be on the same road without it!
:cool:

mainestratman