PDA

View Full Version : Not Happy New Amp Day

Robert
June 14th, 2010, 06:53 PM
How bad does it look?

I just got this used Fender Pro Jr from UPS, so I installed the tubes, powered it up and smoke started coming out of them within seconds.

I opened it up and this is what I saw -

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_kmpRYJWvkw0/TBaOcJ6StmI/AAAAAAAACCo/oBiNRDqR1qk/s800/P6146876.JPG

duhvoodooman
June 14th, 2010, 07:16 PM
E-w-w-w-w-w, that big filter cap and around it definitely isn't looking good! Actually, the cap may just be singed--looks like it was the resistor below it that went up in smoke.

Calling Tung, calling Tung.....come in, Tung!

Katastrophe
June 14th, 2010, 07:19 PM
Ewwwwwww. Someone call that amph a doctah!

I hope it's a cheap fix, Robert.

bcdon
June 14th, 2010, 07:22 PM
I'm not an amph doctor, but it's just a cap and a few resistors. The real issue is what caused the blow out.. perhaps you didn't seat the tubes properly.

duhvoodooman
June 14th, 2010, 07:28 PM
Here's a photo off Bill Machrone's site that shows how that section of the board should look. Looks to me like R32, the resistor below the 22 uf filter cap, is what let go:

http://machrone.home.comcast.net/~machrone/bjr/fullboard.jpg

I'm not an amph doctor, but it's just a cap and a few resistors. The real issue is what caused the blow out.. perhaps you didn't seat the tubes properly.
Yeah, exactly. And pray that it didn't take out the power transformer with it....

Eric
June 14th, 2010, 07:31 PM
Here's a photo off Bill Machrone's site that shows how that section of the board should look. Looks to me like R32, the resistor below the 22 uf filter cap, is what let go:

Is that picture a modded board? It looks like there are a couple of wires -- one yellow and one blue -- that aren't in Robert's photo. Maybe those had something to do with it?

Don't know, just my uneducated observation...

duhvoodooman
June 14th, 2010, 07:40 PM