PDA

View Full Version : How many axe slingers here play in bands?

Plank_Spanker
October 11th, 2006, 05:22 PM
I do - and I love it.

Just curious as to who else here has an advanced degree in "cat herding".

Spudman
October 11th, 2006, 06:39 PM
I do - and I love it.

Cat herding?:confused: I don't get that one.

I was playing regularly in bands until all the venues in this town closed up. No live music and it's a college town of over 50,000 people. Very strange.
Now I'm working at becoming "Looper Boy". I can probably find a solo gig somewhere at least.
For the most part I'd say I have an advanced degree though.

Plank_Spanker
October 11th, 2006, 07:01 PM
Cat herding?:confused: I don't get that one.

Picture in your mind the image of a cowboy herding a group of cats. Now, imagine what a mess that would be..............................

................Translate that image into all of the work that it takes to keep a band together, happy, functional, and getting to where they need to be on time.

That, my friend, is CAT HERDING! :D

Robert
October 11th, 2006, 07:41 PM
Well, I do play in bands. We have new band starting any day now, but I also play in a duo. I also get hired to play for other bands once in a while.

jpfeifer
October 11th, 2006, 09:32 PM
Hi Plank Spanker,

I play in a group that does casuals. We don't play every weekend but as needed when a gig comes along. We tend to get more gigs around Christmas time so we're getting ready for that. We play weddings and corporate events, etc. The music is fun because it's a variety band so the music styles vary quite a bit. We do some instrumental Jazz stuff, swing, oldies and classic rock, country or whatever the people want to dance to.

I also have a regular gig on Sundays playing with a contemporary group at a church. My wife and my daughter play in this group with me too so it's kind of fun to do something together as a family.

-- Jim

t_ross33
October 11th, 2006, 10:56 PM