PDA

View Full Version : Hi all - From the very beginning

Zel
June 24th, 2010, 09:48 AM
Hello all,

So here's the story, I'm very new at trying to play the guitar. I've smashed around on it pretending that I can play, but nothing ever sounds as it should, even though I enjoy it.

My uncle give me a Washburn LII - at least I think that's what it is, three years ago, just before I started uni, I've never learned how to play and really want to start. I don't really have the time nor money to buy lessons yet, but now that I've finished uni I'm about to start a full time job and want to learn how to play this instrument, I absolutely love rock music, and especially the songs that I get goosebumps from when I hear a great guitar solo. It happens a lot, and I think its about time for me to be able to create these kind of riffs.

Any suggestions on what I should do to start out, like I said I'm completely new to this and have very little knowledge in reading music or even the cords on my guitar.

Thanks

This is my guitar

http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/6008/img0111au.jpg

Eric
June 24th, 2010, 09:53 AM
Hi Zel. Welcome!

There are a bunch of good resources here for learning how to play -- I'm sure people will have lots of suggestions. My best idea is to make some friends who play and learn from them.

Tig
June 24th, 2010, 09:53 AM
Welcome to The Fret, Zel. You've come to a great place full of helpful people.
Here's a great thread to get you started called, yes, "Some advice on getting started":
http://www.thefret.net/showthread.php?t=11248

Dig around some older threads and you'll find plenty of useful treasures.

progrmr
June 24th, 2010, 10:33 AM
welcome! As for where to start, I'd figure out what music you'd most like to play and learn a couple of songs. I find that actually doing is the best way to learn.

FrankenFretter
June 24th, 2010, 02:10 PM
Welcome aboard, Zel! That's a nice looking Washburn. Hope you find the time to play it!

Zel
June 24th, 2010, 03:44 PM