PDA

View Full Version : Help setting up my new strat

dirtyjerzie85
July 20th, 2010, 02:06 PM
I just bought me an American standard strat. I love the guitar and have been saving for some time now. Thing sounds great looks great and plays better. I'm fairly new to guitar playing I been playing for close to two years. Anyway. I'm having trouble adjusting the string height. It's not on all the strings. On the D and G string only. It's jacked almost all the way up. And still buzzing. Not a lot but noticable enough to where it's annoying. The neck is straight with a little releif in it. Now. I do like low action and it just seems that I can't get it with thus D/G string. I mean don't get me wrong this strat has the best action out of all my guitars. I mean the highest this fender goes is still low action to me anyway. It just seems no matter how much I tweak stuff on the guitar the D/G string still buzzes away. I don't understand. I did buy this guitar brand new never played. It didn't come off the wall at guitar center. I ordered it brand new from another music store online. I'm just looking for some help and tips or tricks on how I can get the lowest action with no buzz and the straitest neck possible. Thanks

o and by the way I'm runnig light guage strings. 9's. They are dean markley blue steals.

bcdon
July 20th, 2010, 02:13 PM
Nice video here:

ruTef2we5Yw

dirtyjerzie85
July 20th, 2010, 02:30 PM
Hey I appreciate the video. I'm unable to watch videos because I am posting from my phone. I don't have Internet access right now. Thanks

MAXIFUNK
July 20th, 2010, 05:58 PM
Take it to a good local guitar store and have them give it a setup.

Bloozcat
July 21st, 2010, 06:12 AM
A couple of questions:

Do the strings buzz when played open (not fretted)?

Is the tremolo set up where the bridge plate is up off the body (floating)?

dirtyjerzie85
July 21st, 2010, 09:51 AM