PDA

View Full Version : Anybody Use This Yet??

Rockybluejazz
August 19th, 2010, 11:58 PM
I found this http://www.guitarscratchremover.com/index.html doing a search on well you gussed it. Removing scratches from my guitar. Anybody have any expierance with this stuff? Check out the videos. They never actually say whats in it. It looks too good to be true. Yet I'm very intrigued.

Kazz
August 20th, 2010, 04:21 AM
I think it is one of those products that fills in clear coat scratches for a temporary time....like those color match waxes that came out years ago for your car. Won't do any harm to the finish but won't really be fixing the problem either.

Spudman
August 20th, 2010, 07:23 AM
I use Meguires Scratch X and have had great results. It's available at automotive stores and hardware stores. Some other products are often not as effective or can be some gimmick just to get money from unsuspecting newbie guitarists.

ZMAN
August 20th, 2010, 10:47 AM
I have had some experience with clear coat auto finishes. From what I can see it looks as if this is a fine rubbing compound and then a polishing compound. It is better known as swirl remover. What you are actually doing is polishing out and levelling the coating on the guitar. The second one takes out any fine scratches and is a glaze.
This is some wax filling as well and the scratches will be there but be less noticable for a while. When the wax wears off you will see them. It all depends on how deep they are and how much you buff them with the initial compound.
I use similar products on my Muscle cars but I use a buffer.

Rockybluejazz
August 20th, 2010, 12:43 PM