PDA

View Full Version : Easy Songs for a Newbie

Bassman uk
August 23rd, 2010, 03:56 PM
Hello To All,
I'm looking for some help. I have played Bass guitar for about 10 years and I'm new to 6 string Guitars what sort of songs do people reccommend for some one like me to learn? :dance

Eric
August 23rd, 2010, 04:24 PM
Funny, I was just looking at this for songs to work on with a teen I know. I thought "Let It Be" would be a good one. Four chords and you're there.

If others have good suggestions, I'd like to hear them.

Bassman uk
August 23rd, 2010, 04:28 PM
Thanx For the idea will look at tab.

marnold
August 23rd, 2010, 06:41 PM
What kind of music do you like?

Bassman uk
August 24th, 2010, 10:14 AM
What kind of music do you like?

Hiya Marnold Mostly Classic rock/rock and blue's rock:dude

Eric
August 24th, 2010, 10:48 AM
What chords do you know? There are a ton of songs that can be transposed to G, but you wouldn't be able to play along to the recordings then.

"A Horse With No Name" is probably the easiest song I've ever played.

sunvalleylaw
August 24th, 2010, 10:57 AM
Funny, I was just looking at this for songs to work on with a teen I know. I thought "Let It Be" would be a good one. Four chords and you're there.

How are you doing on the timing on that one Eric? I like that song and tried it last night. A good one, but you have to rip through three chords between verses as a transition.

Brown eyed girl, most any Eagles song (Hotel California, Peaceful Easy Feeling), Jimmy Buffet songs, lots of others like that are good for beginner fodder as well.

Slower Pearl Jam (Crazy Mary for instance), If I had a Million Dollars, by Bare Naked Ladies, Keep on Rockin in the Freeworld, and many other Neil Young songs. Some of the acoustic Neil songs have some funky rhythm things you have to watch out for.