PDA

View Full Version : Coffee - how do you brew?

sunvalleylaw
August 25th, 2010, 08:00 AM
Just had to order a new coffee maker. We had been using a Meliita Grind and Brew that I loved. Good coffee, could use whole beans, and set it to start automatically. It broke, and they don't make them anymore, so I just had to order a Cuisinart Grind and Brew.

While we have been waiting, I am using the old french press. Not a bad way to go either, though I prefer good drip coffee.

How do you brew? :hungry

Heywood Jablomie
August 25th, 2010, 08:32 AM
I've been using an electric percolator for many years. It's really fast (a cup a minute) and makes really hot coffee.

Brian Krashpad
August 25th, 2010, 08:52 AM
We have drip coffee makers at the office and Casa Krashpad. At work we use the pre-ground packets. At home we sometimes fresh grind whole beans (we have a separate grinder) but more often use pre-ground coffee.

Robert
August 25th, 2010, 09:15 AM
I have lots of tips on my coffee website - www.bestcoffeenews.com !

Use good quality coffee, freshly roasted and freshly ground
Use fresh, clean, cold water. Filtered or bottled water works well, but avoid distilled or softened water.
The grind chosen must be of the correct fineness for the chosen brewing method.
The pot should be cleaned and warm.
Make only enough coffee for your immediate needs. The coffee will deteriorate if you keep it too long. Avoid reheating coffee, it just doesn't taste the same.
Avoid boiling brewed coffee - it is a sure way to spoil the coffee.
Use approximately 70 grams of coffee per litre of water.

Bloozcat
August 25th, 2010, 09:27 AM
Several months back I bought a programmable Cuisinart coffee pot. It died just after the warranty ran out (took 45 minutes to brew a half pot). I then bought some other expensive brand of programmable coffee pot (can't recall what brand) and it was DOA, never worked.