PDA

View Full Version : How do you practice band material at home (on your own) ?

Fretz
August 25th, 2010, 08:51 AM
Hi Guys

I find that rehearsing at home (on your own) is pretty different to what happens in a rehearsal/gig with the rest of the band!
It's louder, less focused, you might be using different equipment and micing up (this is a big one :) ), etc, etc, etc.

So I was wondering how you guys prepare for such a rehearsal/gig?
Maybe you sometimes use backing tracks, mics, etc, at home to "simulate" a band scenario?

Be very interesting to get the opinion of the experienced guys on this one.

...Thanks.

aeolian
August 25th, 2010, 10:08 AM
I am not a gigging musician, so I don't really have true experience. I do play with a hobby band (that's played out a few times) for the last 2 years and I do practice at home, so I can relate to that.

It sounds like you are trying to emulate a band practice environment at home. My goal is different: I'm just trying to learn my parts when I practice at home. I don't work on the sound aspect of my playing when I practice, in fact I almost always practice unplugged. This is possible because I'm not big into effects and such. My only pedal is my DVM MK2.

If it is a cover song I practice to the song we are trying to cover, which works pretty well. The exceptions are sometimes we play a song in a different key than the original, or we may rearrange the song a bit, then the 'playing along' method does not work completely.

What is missing when practicing at home is the interplay of all the instruments and vocals. When I practice at home I sing along to my playing although I'm not the lead singer in the group. I also attempt to 'hear' other instrument parts in my head as I practice. My goal is to get the muscle memory part down in practice.