PDA

View Full Version : Propellerhead Record

syo
August 29th, 2010, 07:38 PM
Anyone using Record? If so, what do you think? I just upgraded to Reason 5 and Record 1.5 is part of the upgrade. I just started playing around with it and I must say that so far, I'm impressed.

My usual DAW is Pro Tools but it will be nice to have something I can easily take on the road to record with so I can sketch ideas in hotels. Just need a little USB guitar link and I'm set. Frankly after 10+ years using (and sometimes suffering with) Pro Tools I would love to be able to use something as seemingly stable and user friendly as this regularly. But I've invested quite alot in plugins so I guess I'm stuck with PT for now.

A frequent rap about Record is that it is a closed system that doesn't support 3rd party plugins. Because of this however I think it is perhaps much more stable. It does include Line 6 guitar and bass amp sims/effects which is nice. Nice too to be able to lay some quick Reason drum and bass tracks without having to Rewire. Just started playing with it this weekend but I'm getting into this.

Any Record lovers/haters out there?

vroomery
August 29th, 2010, 07:54 PM
I use reason multiple times a week (still on v4), but I've never used record. I usually rewire into Ableton Live 8 for daw tasks, but I would love some other options. It would be especially nice because of the ideally solid cooperation between reason and record.

syo
August 30th, 2010, 03:46 AM
I don't know yet about Reason with Record as my copy of Reason won't arrive until tomorrow (and Record 1.5 won't work with Reason 4). However Record is available as a download so I recorded a little with the limited Reason elements that come with it. I am really looking forward to having the whole package together. My next problem will be finding the time to use it. I'm completely swamped these days...