PDA

View Full Version : Signed up to run a 10K

t_ross33
September 1st, 2010, 05:27 PM
...on Sept 26th. I'm not in terrible shape, but haven't ran in ages and ages. Any tips to help me train/get in shape? It's a charity run, so I'm not too concerned if I run/walk/run or have to walk part of it, but I would like to try to run the full 10K.

Complete newbie here... help a brother out (:poke Robert)

Robert
September 1st, 2010, 08:45 PM
Ha, I sure can help! How much have you run the last 6 months?

Sept 26... that's coming up pretty soon!

By the way, my friend and I are looking into festival opportunities. Know of anything in Saskatchewan? Rootys, bluesy, folky style, we have.

t_ross33
September 1st, 2010, 09:24 PM
run... not so much, but my work keeps me fairly active. I do bike a bit. I need to work on cardio for sure... 10k might be ambitious, but I like a challenge - lol!

As far as festivals, Saskatchewan has a ton of stuff (and a really vibrant indie/folkie/blues/country scene)...

http://www.tourismsaskatoon.com/festivals (http://www.tourismsaskatoon.com/festivals/)

http://www.tourismregina.com/categoryViewer.php?id=176

http://www.sasktourism.com/things-to-do/events

Hope that helps...

Spudman
September 1st, 2010, 10:02 PM
I'd say to go run the distance at whatever pace feels good then try to improve your time as the weeks go by. Then taper the week before the event so that you are fresh on race day. And, one big word of advice, be sure to go number two before you start the race.

t_ross33
September 1st, 2010, 10:26 PM
I'd say to go run the distance at whatever pace feels good then try to improve your time as the weeks go by. Then taper the week before the event so that you are fresh on race day. And, one big word of advice, be sure to go number two before you start the race.