PDA

View Full Version : How do bands and band members get paid?

poodlesrule
September 6th, 2010, 08:04 AM
I wonder how bands, and band members, get paid.

How does income reporting work? For example, are members self-employed, contracting out?

I am not thinking so much local bands, but more about the ones that do some summer touring, where travel expenses become a factor.

6stringdrug
September 6th, 2010, 08:54 AM
My band rarely plays out of area, however, I toured with a blugrass festival some years back and got paid by check and 1099'd at the end of the year. I was very young and didnt save any of my reciepts from that summer. I got hit hard on my taxes, I could have written off gas, hotels, campground expenses, food, strings, even the money I had spent on stickers and cd production. now, I save every reciept, even though I am not a professioinal musician anymore. If I play one gig and get 1099'd again, I can write off everything I spent the whole year!!!

deeaa
September 6th, 2010, 09:18 AM
Well, I think I've maybe gotten properly paid on perhaps on five gigs out of a hundred...and even when I have, the pay has been so small it hasn't really been a problem in any way.

It's always either been we've been given food and beer, maybe some booze, and in some cases a place to spend the night, and that's it.