PDA

View Full Version : Best Way To Get The Most From A Guitar Lesson?

Fretz
September 23rd, 2010, 03:58 AM
Hi Fretters

So I've started taking guitar lessons again recently. A new music school
opened up near where I live so I thought I'd give it a go...hoping it'll speed
up my progress, etc. But it's amazing how fast that hour long lesson goes by,
and although the teacher is very knowledgeable and skilled, I sometimes
leave wondering if we could have used the 60 minutes in a more efficient and
beneficial way.

Because I'm not a complete beginner my teacher allows me to
steer the lesson and suggest areas I'd like to/need to work on and we take it
from there. But with so much of the technical information available on the
internet these days, I'd like to use the 60 minutes face time with a
professional guitar player to focus on areas that can't be addressed with a
quick google search :)

So I thought I'd open this one up for discussion as I'd say a lot of you guys
have been in the same boat and maybe you figured out how to get the most
out of that one hour a week?

Cheers
Fretz

Eric
September 23rd, 2010, 06:53 AM
I am kind of in the same situation, and I don't claim to have mastered this, but I will share what I do, anyway.

I'll frequently just bring in whatever my current goals are. This can make me seem kind of scatterbrained, as these goals switch a lot, but I figure that's what the teacher is there for. If I'm trying to learn a song for the jam night I participate in, I'll tell him. If it's a lead for some song in church, I'll tell him.

This is a relatively new method for me with lessons, but I think it's going well. I mean, some accountability is good, but ultimately you shouldn't be fighting your lessons -- they should be helping you.