PDA

View Full Version : Unfinished Necks

Jx2
September 27th, 2010, 10:06 AM
Recently I was watching a interview of Tom Maxwell of Hellyea and Nothingface. He was talking about his Dean Soltero's and mentioned all of his have a unfinished neck. Im not much of a shredder but it made me wonder. I have a Squier Jagmaster that has a few small imperfections in the neck thought about giving it a go. But figured first Id ask to see if anyone has done this and what they think.

Bloozcat
September 27th, 2010, 10:32 AM
Recently I was watching a interview of Tom Maxwell of Hellyea and Nothingface. He was talking about his Dean Soltero's and mentioned all of his have a unfinished neck. Im not much of a shredder but it made me wonder. I have a Squier Jagmaster that has a few small imperfections in the neck thought about giving it a go. But figured first Id ask to see if anyone has done this and what they think.

I don't know what the climate is like where you live, but an unfinished neck here in Florida is a formula for disaster.

Wood absorbs and sheds moisture from the air depending on degree of humidity, time of exposure, and type/density of the wood. Even finished wood will experience this to a degree. Without a finish to protect and minimize the exposure the neck could easily twist and warp from exposure. This is why most companies that make necks void their warranty if an approved finish is not applied before installation on a guitar.

Where I live the humidity can be as high as 90% in the summer months and as low as 30% in the winter. It's not just the humidity or lack thereof that's the problem, it's the swings from one extreme to the other that caused the damage.

Jx2
September 27th, 2010, 12:35 PM