PDA

View Full Version : I didn't realize what I'd been missing ...

jpfeifer
October 12th, 2010, 10:45 PM
I've had my Egnater Rebel 30 amp for a few weeks and I'm finding myself playing it all the time now. I didn't realize what a difference it was to play through an all-tube signal path for quite some time since I had been using my other amps for a few years.

The big thing that I'm noticing are all those dynamics that I have now that I didn't seem to have with my other amp. The notes seem to have more depth to them with tubes (maybe it's the natural compression or coloring that tubes seem to do). I'm having a blast playing the clean sounds especially. It's kind of 3-dimensional sounding. You pick harder or softer and the tone is different, the amp responds differently to the way you play, like an extension of the guitar.

But I know the hassles of using tube amps too, which is why I quit using them several years ago. I got tired of having to replace tubes now and then, and always having a backup amp to use just in case a tube failed in the middle of a gig or something.
However, I'm now realizing that I was giving up a lot of tone when I stopped using them. Anyway, time will tell if it's all worth it, but so far I think that it is. It's making me play guitar more, and my guitars never sounded so good.

--Jim

deeaa
October 13th, 2010, 01:31 AM
Indeed! And also the less pedals you use up front, the more the tube sound shines thru.

Now, the hard - and frustrating - part is that even though _you_ as a player fell and hear that when playing, it's damned hard to capture those nuances on recordings. That's what really bugs me. I always look for ways to record my Ceriatone...but in the end, using Amplitube and D/I gives equal if not better sounds ten times easier.