PDA

View Full Version : Finally Headphones designed for Guitar players?

Lev
October 22nd, 2010, 03:23 AM
Looks like Marshall are launching their own branded headphones next month. I've been really struggling trying to find headphones that I can have an enjoyable guitar experience with at a decent price point. The problem I have with headphones is that you really need a week to bond with them before you know if know if they are going to work for you, so it can become a costly exercise of trial and error.

I'm hoping Marshall's experience making guitar products will mean that these headphones are tailored for guitar players and I might finally find a set of headphones that I can bond with.

http://www.marshallheadphones.com/

Ch0jin
October 22nd, 2010, 04:03 AM
I'm no headphone expert, but I've had a wonderful experience with the two sets of Sennheiser's I use. I have some HD201's I use for guitar and general music and some older ones with a boom mic that I use on my pc.

I couldn't think of anything I'd change about the 201's so I'm curious as to what your looking for in cans that you can't find?

Me personally I'm a little skeptical. I mean if I want great amps I think Marshall, if I want great headphones, well, I'm not looking in the same direction....

Wait....

I suppose there is one thing.

A good set of cans carries a very different set of specs to a good guitar amp. In my book at least, a good set of monitors or headphones are supposed to reproduce -precisely- what they are fed, whereas a good guitar amp does anything but.

Maybe Marshall are going to tailor the frequency response characteristics of the headphones to be more suitable for rock?

Lets wait and see :)

R_of_G
October 22nd, 2010, 06:36 AM
I've had a set of AKG K240 headphones for years and can't think of a single problem with them. They're comfortable. The sound is perfect. The cord is long enough that I can move around reasonably when I play. Not sure what could be done to improve upon them.